Al-Qiyamah (The Resurrection)

Muslim Scholars speak of three types of resurrection:

  1. The Minor Resurrection (Al-Qiyamtu'l Sughra) which occurs at the hour of death for each individual, when the soul is released and it is made to discover the worth and recompense of its deeds.
  2. The intermediate Resurrection (Al-Qiyamatu'l Wusta) which pertains to a specific community, or nation of believers (Ummah), when religion is renewed and spiritual life is regenerated and diffused by the coming of the Messenger.
  3. The Great Resurrection (Al-Qiyamatu'l Udhma) for the whole of mankind which is foretold by all religions as the Day of Judgment, or the Day of God.

It is this third type of resurrection, which is addressed in this page.

The Day of Judgment

The Day of Judgment, Al-Qiyamah, Yawmul Deen, (also known as the, Day of the Gathering, Day of Meeting God, the Resurrection, and The Great Announcement), is a major theme, the Grand Promise, addressed not only in the Qur'an, but also in the Scriptures of other major religions. Opinions may have differed on specifics, yet there is a common consensus, that the Day of Judgment is a time of momentous upheaval, and calamity and, to many people, it is the time of the end of the world.

Another notion which many seem to agree on, is that everyone would readily recognize that Day -(for how could anyone remain unaware of such a momentous event?)

This is an attempt to examine what different verses in the Qur'an (and some hadith) tell us about Al-Qiyamah. It is also a humble attempt to reconcile what might appear as, differing descriptions of the event (even to the point of contradiction at face value). The focus is on taking the Qur'an in its entirety rather than picking and choosing specific and isolated verses to the exclusion of other verses or ignoring them.

Copyright 2004
Islam and the Baha'i Faith